The unused credits are kept in your account. If you don't need many images today but want the benefit of a large discount you can still acquire credits and leave the unused ones for future use. Credits expire in 12 months since the date they were bought. This means you have one year to use these credits for downloading images. After your credits expire you will have to acquire new credits in order to download images.