On the major Buddhist Holidays, Thai Buddhists will gather in the evening at Temples all over Thailand to take part in a Buddhist Ceremony known as ‘Wian Tian”. Wian Tian is a candlelight procession where the people will walk three times around a Temple in a clockwise direction, carrying a lighted candle, Joss sticks and flowers which will later be given as an offering to pay homage to the Lord Buddha. “Wian” means to circle and “Tian” is a candle The three circumnavigations of the Temple represent the three essential parts of Buddhism, 1. The Buddha 2. The Dhamma 3. The Sangha which are known as the Three Gems or Triple Gem. The Buddha is our Spiritual Father and the founder of Buddhism. The Dhamma is the teachings of Buddha and the Sangha, which is the community of disciples or followers who teach the Dhamma to lay people.

  • MR: NO
  • PR: NO
  • 0
  • 424
  • 0

Editorial Stock Image: The vesak day in thailand

ID 25131414 © | Dreamstime.com

We accept all major credit cards from the United States.

More similar stock images

More images

More stock photos from Phattana's portfolio

More images